Applying for courses – UWE BA English Language and Linguistics, UCL MSc Speech and Language Sciences

Contributor: Amie

What? I studied english language and linguistics at UWE and I am starting a masters in speech therapy at UCL next year.

Why did you choose this place? I chose UWE as it was the best university that provided this combination. The linguistics dept at that time was very strong with great staff. As for UCL, it is one of the best universities in the world. Although I’m dreading moving out of Bristol I am really excited to study there. I was very impressed with the facilities and staff there when I went for my interview. The student support in the SLT dept at UCL has also already been exemplary.

How did you find the application process? The application process for my undergrad was simple, and stress free. The masters was a lot harder, a lot more work, and expensive, which I did not expect. I was lucky and had a lot of support but I think it would be very difficult for someone who doesn’t have support from a person with experience in SLT.

What do you do here? When I graduated I worked in the English department of a secondary school, at TESOL summer schools, and then as an assistant speech therapist in a brain injury rehab unit. I now work as a learning support assistant in a special needs school with adolescents with profound and multiple disabilities.

The good things: intellectually challenging, linguistics can lead to many careers, SLT marries linguistics, medical science and public service perfectly

The bad things: linguistics can  lead to many careers!! slt is very competitive with a lack of universities offering the course, application process to SLT masters.

Anything else we should know: get work experience in anything that you feel could be relevant to your future career. This is the most important thing, more than the uni you go to, your degree mark (within reason), more than anything.

Leave a Reply

