Work Placement – Vocational Mentor – UWE Volunteering

Contributor: Amy

Where? Weston College
What? Vocational Mentoring Pilot Scheme
Why did you choose this place? An opportunity came up at my university (UWE) to go into a local college and mentor students on a vocational course. I was placed at Weston College by UWE.
 How did you find the application process? Fairly straightforward. I had to fill in an online application form, stating previous relevant experience and why I wanted to apply. Then I had a group interview which involved group activities.
What do you do here? I went to Weston College for a couple of hours each week and was available for drop in sessions to the college students if they wanted advice about Higher Education or help with their coursework.
The good things: Working in a new environment and communicating with students. I also had to be organised to balance the time with my studies.
The bad things: The nature of the drop in meant that some weeks I would go to the college and not mentor any students. 
Anything else we should know: If I could do it again, I would attempt to arrange regular mentoring sessions for a small group of students. This would guarantee attendance each week and would hopefully allow me to make a notable impact with mentoring. Whilst drop in sessions are flexible for students at the college, it meant that mentoring was not a priority and sometimes forgotten. Despite this, I still think that mentoring is a valuable experience.

Leave a Reply

